Here we go!

I’m Lindsey, an-almost-no-longer-20-something, living in Houston. I’m a real estate agent, friend, daughter, sister, aunt, singer, and lover of music, wine, good food and fun.

I am on a journey to lose 100 pounds… a journey to become healthy, happy, and the best possible version of myself. That’s why I’m here. I’m nearly 30 (which I still cannot believe!), and it’s time for CHANGE.

I have grown tired of watching my life pass me by. Tired of feeling completely defeated, hopeless and trapped. After packing on nearly 100 pounds in a period of 11 years, rather than being excited and looking forward to the future, I am afraid. I mean, it was pretty easy to gain those 100 (ONE HUNDRED!) pounds. And, I’ll be honest — I had A LOT of fun doing it –  (extremely large quantities of) good food, lots of alcohol (had to make up for not drinking in college…no, seriously), late night (errr…early morning) post-night-out-at-the-bars runs for cheese fries, Taco Bell, etc…

Now, I am saying NO MORE. I have spent the last year and a half  doing my absolute best to pick up the pieces of a broken life, and of a broken heart. I had been unhappy and discontent for quite some time, and I always knew that my weight and unhealthiness were tremendous contributors to that. I was never able to lose the weight in order to save my marriage. I was never able to lose the weight so that my spouse would once again find my body attractive. And so on, and so on…

It’s time to change my life for ME. No excuses this time.

As a single 20-something woman, looking at the world with refreshing and new lenses, I feel more convicted than ever before that NOW is my chance to live. I have decided that I am no longer going to be a spectator in my own life, looking on halfheartedly from the sidelines. I am in charge. I call the shots. I make the decisions around here.

Even in the short period of time since I’ve begun this journey (7 days), I feel like I can conquer the world. Sometimes, in the middle of a workout, or in mid-conversation with a friend, I will nearly burst into tears, because for the first time, I feel like I can accomplish ANYTHING. I have been set free (from many things) and feel like the sky is the limit. Just taking these first (very difficult) steps in the direction of being fit and healthy is so freeing.

Where am I on my journey? I am working out (mostly cardio) 6 days a week, at a minimum of 30 minutes per day. Most of my workouts have been outdoor walking (with some short runs mixed in), as I am currently training for my first race, a 5k on March 4th. I will be running with my mom and sister — the very first race for all of us! This whole *running* thing is new for me. I never thought I’d enjoy it. But there’s something about pushing myself past limits and achieving the unthinkable that is exhilarating. It gives me a high I’ve never before experienced, and I can’t get enough of it. 

left to right, sister, mom, me (they say we look alike, and i can't imagine why.) looking forward to crossing my first finish line with two of my favorite people in the world!

In addition to exercise, I’m going back to the basics and counting calories. I use an awesome website/iPhone app (My Fitness Pal) to track ALL of my food (and log my workouts). It has, by far, the most extensive database of foods that I’ve ever seen. I never have trouble finding nutrition info for any of my food, including restaurant foods. My Fitness Pal calculates your current stats (height, weight, age, goal weight) and asks how many pounds per week you would like to lose. My goal is to lose 2 pounds per week, which is the maximum amount allowed by MFP. So my daily calorie goal is set for me (along with a daily carb, protein and fat goal).

Weigh-ins: I did my first official weigh-in today and will weigh in each Friday, posting my results here! I will post the change in weight, not my actual weight, at least for now. 🙂

What kinds of things will you find on my blog? I’m sure this will be ever-evolving, but for now, my plan is to post pictures of my meals (to hold myself accountable & to potentially give you new ideas) and my workouts/training progress, along with documenting the life of a single girl on a mission to balance weight loss, career, family and social life.

So, without further ado…

TODAY’S FOOD *no pictures today
Breakfast
2 egg whites + 1 egg, scrambled with 1 tsp. olive oil
whole grain english muffin with 1 tbsp grape jelly
honeycrisp apple

Lunch
Peanut butter + banana smoothie (DELICIOUS!!!)
1 frozen banana
1 tbsp. reduced fat natural peanut butter
1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
2 truvia packets

Dinner
Fajitas @ friends’ house this evening

TODAY’S WORKOUT(S)
45-minute walk at approx. 15-min. mile pace (As of tomorrow morning’s workout, I will begin using new iMapMyRun app.) 

*So far this week, I have logged a little over 10 miles, and I ran .5 miles without stopping (longest distance ever)! I was sure that I couldn’t run that far without a break. I just knew it would be too hard for me, being overweight and a (former) non-runner. But I pushed through the doubt and fear and pain, and once I completed that half-mile lap, I truly felt as though I could do anything. It was a pretty amazing feeling! In that moment, I began to realize that the only thing that has been holding me back is ME. As a part of this weight loss journey, I end up spending a lot of time alone, being with ME, which is what I have been avoiding for many years. This journey is a beautiful and painful one, all at the same time. At the end of the day, I am grateful for where I am in my life, for everything that has brought me to this exact point in time, and I look forward to sharing my journey here.

I hope you will join me!

🙂

Have a great weekend!

xoxo
linz

One response to “Here we go!

  1. Pingback: Focus + Discipline | Linz Loses

Leave a Reply

