Introducing Favorite Things Friday!

Happy Almost-Weekend!!!

Welcome to the very first edition of: FAVORITE THINGS FRIDAY, where I dish about a few of my favorite things.

This week’s faves include:

Sushi
One of my all-time favorite foods is sushi. This week, I enjoyed a lovely happy hour/sushi dinner (& lots of laughter) with a friend from college, who was one of my sister’s roommates. *Hi Katie! I’m glad that we sat at our table and talked for two hours, since there was not a wait or anything.*  I enjoy sushi because healthier options abound, and I never feel like I’m “missing out” by not ordering the less healthy options on the menu. I forgot to snap photos of what I ate, but here’s a quick run-down:
  • Edamame (duh.)
  • Miso soup & salad with ginger dressing
  • Spicy salmon roll
  • Dynamite roll (mixed raw fish)
  • Escolar (super white tuna) sashimi — This. Is. Amazing. It’s so buttery and seriously melts in your mouth. 
  • A delicious glass of shiraz

Babies
Yes, I love babies, specifically my niece and nephew, but you already knew that. That doesn’t mean you will stop seeing photos of them on my blog, because you obviously LOVE it.

my mom + Micah after Christmas dinner, during which Micah sang several medleys of her favorite songs, while seated at the head of the table. She is also very talented at rapping. (Seriously.)

newborn Beckett --- He's almost 7 months old now!

My good friend Andy had her first baby last month. There’s nothing like a sweet, snuggly newborn!

Sweet Miss Ansley Chase (don't you love her name???) on Valentine's Day

Aaaaaaand, one more cutie pie picture! My college roommate, Allison, had her first little one last fall. I got to meet Mr. Jax in December of last year. Can’t wait to see him again (hopefully soon)!

awwwwwww

Red Wine
Need I say more??? 

enjoyed in moderation these days

Frozen Bananas
As soon as I buy bananas, I peel them, split them into fourths and throw them DIRECTLY into the freezer. I can throw frozen banana into the blender for any smoothie (or with just a touch of unsweetened vanilla almond milk), and BAM! Instant ice cream-like deliciousness.

Yummmmmmmmy peanut butter + banana smoothie!!!

LOVE that peanut butter + banana smoothie!!!

New York City
In TWENTY days, I will be on a plane headed to my absolute favorite place on earth, New York City, where I will spend four fabulous days celebrating my 30th birthday. When deciding where to go for my 30th, I tossed around ideas like New Orleans, Vegas and San Antonio, but when push came to shove, I couldn’t pass up a chance to ring in this new decade in the city that never sleeps (I know, I know…cheese alert!).  Also, a quick confession: This will be my THIRD trip to NYC in a period of 9 months. But I am completely and utterly okay with that. I do, however, recognize that I should broaden my traveling horizons and plan to do that in my 30s. 😉

New York City is home to some of my best friends.

Sharee + me in Central Park, summer 2011 🙂

Some of my Houston-area friends are flying up to celebrate 30-is-the-new-20 with me also! I’m so excited about this trip and cannot wait for what is sure to be a crazy and fun girls’ weekend in the Big Apple!

And that concludes the first edition of Favorite Things Friday! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. I’m participating in the Armadillo Dash (my first 5k!) on Sunday. I’ll see you on Monday for a Weekend Recap.

xoxo
linz


One response to “Introducing Favorite Things Friday!

  1. Omg yay blog shout-out! Excited to hear about the 5K!! Want to run the MD Anderson Sprint for Life 5K on May 5?? I think I’m going to!

Leave a Reply

