Aside

This Week

It’s FRIDAY!!! Since you haven’t heard from me since Monday (I will point out, however, that Monday was a DOUBLE POST DAY. 😉 ), I thought I’d do a quick end-of-week check-in. This week has quite crazy. I work for a non-profit, and our largest event of the year, a marathon+half marathon, is on Sunday. This is an exciting and busy time for our organization. EXCITING + BUSY = a PERFECT combination for me. 🙂

Workout-wise, this week has been awesomely challenging. I really wanted to push myself extra hard this week, and that I did. We did “The Wave” and burnouts on Monday and Tuesday. Wednesday and Thursday’s cardio workouts were both a “5-10-15-20” circuit: 5 reps of each exercise, then 10, 15, and 20. We did the following exercises:

  • Box jumps
  • Kettle bell clean and press
  • Plyo pushups*
  • “Johnny Cs” (plank on elbows, up to hands, back down to elbows, back up to hands. Yes, it’s as AWFUL as it sounds.)*
  • Battle ropes
  • Rebounder isometric throws
  • Squat jumps

*I did not do pushups or Johnny Cs, due to my shoulder injury. (As much as I LOVE — not gonna lie — not having to do pushups and planks, I feel like I’m missing out on getting stronger and improving on those two, very important elements. Call me crazy, but it’s the truth.)

The strength workout on both Wednesday and Thursday consisted of upper and lower body burnout exercises (Do as many reps as you can until you can’t take it anymore…Then, do just a few more.), followed by hip-flexor/core auxiliary sets. Exciting gym moment for me this week: I held a lunge for ONE MINUTE AND FIFTEEN SECONDS! I pushed through some serious pain and leg-shaking, and I felt great (and VERY WOBBLY) afterward! All in all, a fantastically sweaty week in the gym.

Food-wise, below are some of my eats from the week.

smoothie coffee

Breakfast = a smoothie (with frozen strawberries, instead of bananas) + Dunkin- Donuts pumpkin spice coffee w/ Sweet Leaf Stevia and a splash of So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer

I seriously love my spinach-packed smoothies. As I told my friend yesterday, I feel like I’m winning at life when I eat my veggies.

Image

This salad for lunch was A-MAZING: 2 boiled eggs, 2 slices of turkey bacon, a pinch of feta, and a handful of grape tomatoes on a bed of spring mix salad and spinach. And for my fellow ranch dressing lovers — You MUST check out this dressing: Bolthouse Farms Classic Ranch Yogurt Dressing!!! 45 calories in 2 tablespoons, and it is delicious! TRY IT. You will not regret it. PROMISE.

Image

Dinner: taco salad prepared by my wonderful sis. (She very eloquently blogs about her precious kiddos and family life, among other things, here.Black beans, light sour cream, a little wholly guacamole, diced onion, a bit of cheddar cheese, lots of salsa, and 6 (…yes, I counted.) corn tortilla chips.

Image

This week, I also made a breakfast cookie (Check out the how-to here.), which is a wonderful morning time-saver.

Image

My mix-ins were dried cranberries and mashed banana. YUMMY!

Image

On a completely non-food-related note, I rocked one of my favorite hair-dos this week: THE SOCK BUN. (Tutorial here.) Instead of using an old, neutral colored sock, I put a bright orange Halloween sock in there, which kind of amuses me. Go big or go home. You know?

I’m off to continue big event preparations! I leave you with a picture of a shirt I stumbled upon when shopping for workout clothes last weekend. Had there been one in my size, I would have probably worn it multiple times to the gym this week.

shirt

Find it. You’ll never be sorry.

Have a wonderful weekend.

xoxo
Linz

Leave a Reply

